How to Get Driver’s License in Nigeria | A Comprehensive Guide

How to Get Driver’s License in Nigeria | A Comprehensive Guide

Are you interested in How to Get a drivers license in Nigeria? Then you are surely at the right place. As you read on, we will be guiding you on how to get a driver’s license in Nigeria.

How to Get Drivers License in Nigeria

Nigerian Driver’s License

In February 1988, the Federal Government created the through Decree No. 45 of 1988 as amended by Decree 35 of 1992 referred to in the statute books as the FRSC Act cap 141 Laws of the Federation of Nigeria (LFN).

Passed by the National Assembly as the Federal Road Safety Commission (establishment) Act 2007.

The functions of the Commission generally relate to making the highway safe for motorists and other road users.

They can also recommend works and devices designed to eliminate or minimize accidents on the highways and advise the Federal and State Governments and relevant governmental agencies on the localities where such works and devices are required.

How to Get Driver’s License in Nigeria:

Obtaining a Licence for the first time in Nigeria requires following the steps below;

1. Attend training at an accredited driving school.

2. The driving school will then present you to the to Vehicle Inspection Officer (VIO) for a driving test.

3. Pass the driving test and obtain a certificate of proficiency from the VIO.

4. Complete the driver’s license application form at the Driver’s Licence Centre (DLC).

5. Pay the license fee online or at the Bank.

6. Present your application form to the Board of Internal Revenue (BIR) Officer and VIO at the DLC for endorsement.

7. Proceed to the FRSC Officer at the DLC for biometric data capture.

8. Obtain a temporary driver’s license valid for 60 days.

9. Pick up your original driver’s license at the BIR Office after 60 days.

T10. o renew your National driving licence, you can

Classes of Niger Driver’s License

These are the 10 classes of Nigeria driver’s license:

1. Class A – Motorcycle.

2. Class B – Motor vehicle of less than 3 tonnes gross weight other than motorcycle, taxi, stage carriage, or omnibus. “Omnibus” means any motor vehicle that carries more than six persons excluding the driver while “Stage carriage” is an omnibus used for hire or cab in which a fee is charged.

3. Class C – A motor vehicle of less than 3 tonnes gross weight, other than a motorcycle.

4. Class D – Motor vehicle other than a motorcycle, taxi, stage carriage, articulated vehicle, or vehicle drawing a trailer.

5. Class E – Motor vehicle other than a motorcycle or articulated vehicle.

6. Class F – Agricultural machines and tractors.

7. Class G – Articulated vehicles.

8. Class H – Earthmoving vehicles.

9. Class J – Special, for physically challenged persons.

10. Class V – Convoy driving (persons engaged in driving senior government or political office holders in stream driving).

You can apply online at or in person at a Driver’s Licence Centre (DLC).

Note: In exercising their duties, members of the FRSC shall have the power to arrest and prosecute persons reasonably suspected of having committed any traffic offense.

You can check out some other productive articles that may be of interest to you as you will find on this platform.

CSN Team

Discover more from Coursity

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.


No comments yet. Why don’t you start the discussion?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *